About Me

My name is Christian, and I am 32 years old. I live in small town around Heidelberg in Germany and work as a software engineer.

Hello, nice to meet you!

My hobbies include

reading

non-fiction and fiction, my goodreads profile,

sports

barbell movements in my homegym, some jogging. I used to play football, but two cruciate ligament ruptures in my right knee and studies prevented further playing,

software

learning new things, Linux, keeping up-to-date with current developments,

playing computer games

at the moment I am into Factorio and Path of Exile. Generally I prefer jump-and-runs like Shovel Knight or Celeste, puzzle games, and multiplayer games with my friends,

listening to music

Metal (Progressive, Power, Death, Black), Soundtracks, some AOR/Rock,

TV/movies

mostly anime ­čÖé

Education

Ruprecht-Karls-Universit├Ąt Heidelberg, degrees in Computer Science

  • Bachelor of Science in application-oriented computer science, grade 1.7 (“good”)
  • Master of Science in applied computer science, grade 2.2 (“good”)

Work

I work at Incontext Technology. My duties as back-end developer include microservices in Scala and JavaScript, REST API design for front-end applications, database schema design, some tooling in Python and keeping the CI/CD pipeline alive.

I discovered a fondness of functional programming through my work with Scala, and try to use it as much as possible where applicable.
The same happened with testing. Through my strong preference to write tests for most of my code, I got to be the “test guy” …

I also write blog posts on our work blog. My contributions can be found here.